2011 Safe Routes to School Grants Awarded

Safe Routes to School (SRTS) is a federally-funded, national program to reduce congestion, improve safety and promote the health and well-being of children by enabling and encouraging them to walk and bicycle to school. With the support of parents, schools, community members and governments, the program evaluates school-area environments; conducts activities; and funds projects that improve safety and reduce traffic and air pollution in the surrounding community – making walking and bicycling to school a safer and more appealing transportation option.

The State Transportation Board determines policy and exercises general governance of Georgia’s Department of Transportation. The Board’s 13 members, representing each of the state’s congressional districts, serve staggered, five-year terms. Board members are elected by those state senators and representatives whose legislative districts fall within all or part of the relevant congressional district.

Below is a list of schools in the Atlanta region awarded SRTS funding in 2011:

Barrow County
Cherokee County
City of Atlanta
Cobb County
Dekalb County
Fulton County
Henry County
Newton County
Visit GDOT’s SRTS website for more details about the program and 2011 grantees.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: